Lee Jung Jae, Lee Yoo Mi and Director Hwang Dong Hyuk Win Emmys for Squid Game

squid game emmys

On September 12, the 2022 Emmys was a monumental night with many first-time winners, including those from South Korea.

Actress Lee Yoo Mi kicked off making history by being the first Korean actress to win "Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series" for the drama Squid Game.

Director Hwang Dong Hyuk continued Squid Game's winnings by becoming the first South Korean director to win an Emmy. Hwang won "Outstanding Director for a Drama Series," specifically the episode "Red Light, Green Light." Upon accepting his award, Hwang finished off his speech by commenting that Squid Game will be back with season 2. 

Meanwhile, in one of the night's final awards, actor Lee Jung Jae won "Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series" for Squid Game

Squid Game as a series had an astonishing 14 nominations, including "Outstanding Drama Series"  Park Hae Soo and Oh Yeong Su for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series. Jung Ho Yeon for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series, and Hwang Dong Hyuk for "Outstanding Wiring for a Drama Series." 

What do you think of the 74th Emmys? For more news about Korean series and films, keep your tabs on KpopWise! 

Ciera Reeves

Ciera is the founder of KpopWise. She has been a fan of Korean pop culture since 2005 and writing about it since 2009. Her bias groups are VIXX and OnlyOneOf. She is a 2nd-3rd generation K-pop fan, but she is actively keeping up with the current artists. twitter instagram

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post