[Album Review] Leechanhyukvideo’s Project "Umbrella"


Leechanhyukvideo’s (Lee Chanhyuk of AKMU) project album Umbrella is a beautiful and introspective collection of songs that explores the themes of loneliness, isolation, and longing. The album features 12 remakes of classic K-pop songs, as well as two original tracks, "Dance" and "Simple Words."

Chanhyuk's reinterpretations of these songs are both faithful and innovative, and he brings his own unique touch to each one. He has a knack for finding the emotional core of a song and then highlighting it in a new and unexpected way. 

The album is also notable for its star-studded lineup of featured artists. Chanhyuk has collaborated with a wide range of people, from actors and actresses to comedians and sports stars. This gives the album a unique and eclectic feel, and it's a lot of fun to hear these different voices come together.

Overall, Umbrella is a stunning album that showcases Chanhyuk's immense talent as a singer, songwriter, and producer. It's a must-listen for fans of AKMU and Korean music lovers in general.

A review of a few of the tracks from the album;

Do Re Mi Fa Sol La Ti Do (Vocal. CHAERYEONG if ITZY): This is a fun and upbeat track that will put a smile on your face. Chaeyeong's vocals are playful and energetic, and the arrangement is catchy and infectious.

Dance (Vocal. Shin Se Hwi): This is the title track of the album, and is a sweet ballad. Se Hwi Shin's vocals are unique and stunning, and the arrangement is simple but effective. The song is about the clumsiness or awkwardness that can come with beginning a relationship. and it's sure to resonate with anyone who has ever felt that way.

I Lost My Umbrella for the First Time (Vocal. Jang YoonJu): This is a wistful reinterpretation of a classic ballad. Jang YoonJu's vocals are perfect for this song, and the arrangement is simple but elegant. The song is about the feeling of loss after a breakup like a lost umbrella in the rain. and it's sure to touch the hearts of anyone who listens to it.

Romantico (Vocal. HANRORO): This is a soft, dreamy and atmospheric track featuring singer HANRORO. The song is about the feeling of dancing with someone you love intensely, and it's sure to transport you to a romantic mood. 

Overall, Umbrella is a beautiful and introspective album that is sure to touch the hearts of anyone who listens to it. Chanhyuk's vocals are stunning, and the arrangements are well-done. If you're a fan of classic K-pop or just looking for a beautiful and moving album to listen to, Umbrella is a must-have.

Track list 

  • Migration - Shin Bong Seon (Korean comedian)
  • Way to the airport - Lee Seyoung (Korean actress)
  • Fly Your Kite - Yim Si Wan (Member of ZE:A / Actor)
  • *Dance - Se Hwi Shin (Korean actress)
  • The Moment You Want to Stay - Go Asung (Korean actress)
  • You Don’t Have to Say Anything (I already know) - Seorina (Korean actress)
  • I Lost My Umbrella For the First Time - Jang YoonJu (Korean Model / actress)
  • Romantico - HANRORO (Korean singer)
  • Doremifasollatido - CHAERYONG (Member of ITZY)
  • Waltz of tears - Youngdae Ko, SEUNGWON IM (Korean YouTuber)
  • Oh! What a Shiny Night - Kwak Yoongy (Korean short track speed skater)
  • Simple words - LEE SUHYUN (AKMU), Chang Kiha (Korean singer)

Leechanhyukvideo explained the meaning of the project album ‘Umbrella,’ saying

“A small umbrella that fills in as soon as I open to enter, small enough that I can't invite no others or things, and hope that when I close, it stays closed with all the secrets that should be hidden from the world.” Expressing their wish that ‘Umbrella’ could provide comfort to the listeners.

‘Umbrella’ is an album that originated from the desire to find one’s own personal space when in need. In particular, Leechanhyukvideo is a group where you can experience Lee Chanhyuk’s true musician color through videos, visual artworks, performances, and exhibitions. The synergy created by Leechanhyukvideo and 14 artists together adds to the charm.

Meanwhile, AKMU will finally have a comeback after 2 years on August 21 with the single album "Love Lee."  As we wait for the new album, why not give this one a listen? 

Ciera Reeves

Ciera is the founder of KpopWise. She has been a fan of Korean pop culture since 2005 and writing about it since 2009. Her bias groups are VIXX and OnlyOneOf. She is a 2nd-3rd generation K-pop fan, but she is actively keeping up with the current artists. twitter instagram

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post