Photo Credit: SM Entertainment

NCT 127 released their highly anticipated new album, “Fact Check – The 5th Album”. Listen HERE.

The nine-track album features the title track ‘Fact Check’, a dance track with an intense synth loop propelled by an Afrobeats-inspired rhythm. The lyrics express NCT 127’s untouchable confidence in their output, unphased by any attempts to ‘fact check’ their credentials. 

Watch the music video

Renowned as one of K-pop’s most sonically experimental groups; NCT 127’s latest offering hears them expand their musical horizons and flex their growth as songwriters and performers in a mix of rap, and R&B/pop vocal styles.

Space’ is an airy pop mid-tempo, comparing the emotions of falling in love to zero gravity and space. ‘Parade’ is a fun, kaleidoscopic hip-hop track that highlights the group’s versatility and energy. The mid-tempo rock track ‘Angel Eyes’ features lyrics co-written by TAEYONG and MARK. The feel-good vibes continue with ‘Yacht’, a carefree pop track with cheerful brass sounds, perfect for seaside escapes. The enigmatic ‘Je Ne Sais Quoi’ is the perfect blend of NCT 127’s signature style of rap and pristine, R&B vocals, with lyrics that speak of escaping mundane daily city life with moments they dream of.

Elsewhere on the album, evocative and sentimental lyrics come to the forefront. On ‘Love is a beauty’ – a track with lyrics co-written by TAEIL, TAEYONG, and MARK – they beautifully express their NCT 127 memories together. On the emotive ballad ‘Misty’, which was co-written by TAEYONG and MARK, the group compares suddenly thinking of a loved one to an unexpected rain shower. The album concludes with ‘Real Life’, a pop track that conveys the magical feeling of being with a loved one. The lyrics draw from the warm feelings of spending every day with a loved one despite an exhausting and harsh reality.

NCT 127’s “Fact Check – The 5th Album” is the follow-up to “2 Baddies – The 4th Albumwhich debuted at No. 3 on the Billboard 200, making the group only the second K-Pop artist in history to land three albums in the Top 5. The repackage album, “Ay-Yo, featured three new tracks and earned the group its fifth, and consecutive, Top 10 on Billboard’s Album Sales chart. All five placements have peaked within the top two positions of the chart.

NCT 127 recently released their documentary series, titled “NCT 127: The Lost Boys”The docuseries is available to stream on Disney+ in the UK. Watch the trailer here.

“Fact Check – The 5th Album” tracklist
1. Fact Check
2. Space
3. Parade
4. Angel Eyes
5. Yacht
6. Je Ne Sais Quoi
7. Love is a beauty
8. Misty
9. Real Life

Ciera Reeves

Ciera is the founder of KpopWise. She has been a fan of Korean pop culture since 2005 and writing about it since 2009. Her bias groups are VIXX and OnlyOneOf. She is a 2nd-3rd generation K-pop fan, but she is actively keeping up with the current artists. twitter instagram

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post