WayV Returns with 2nd Full Length Album "On My Youth"

WayV returns with their second full-length album “On My Youth” on November 1. The release follows an incredible year of international shows for the NCT sub-group, which included London fan-meet event in summer and their debut US performance at KCON LA. Listen to the album HERE.

From up-tempo synth-pop and bass-heavy hip-hop dance tracks to atmospheric and intimate ballads, “On My Youth” is a multifaceted record that showcases the group’s growth. 

The title track is a bittersweet mid-tempo reflecting on the past and regrets of love lost in the follies of youth. “I know they say that we’re too young, every day we’re growing… we gon’ make mistakes, we’ll get there even if it’s late,” they sing. 

'On My Youth' music video 

‘On My Youth’ – which is also accompanied by an English version on the album – is co-written by British hit songwriters Jin Jin (who has worked with Jess Glynne and RAYE) and Wayne Hector (Nicki Minaj, One Direction). 

The more confident, up-tempo sides of the album are highlighted by ‘Poppin’ Love’, where WayV channels Y2K dance-pop elements, and ‘RODEO’, a slick rap track propelled by a bass-heavy house beat, performed by the group’s rap unit: WINWINHENDERY and YANGYANG

Inspiring themes of overcoming hardships ring loud on ‘Ain’t No Thang’ – a dance-pop track powered by bouncy, synth chords – and ‘INVINCIBLE’, a big-beat and synth-laden celebration of staying strong in the face of adversity, which, sung almost entirely in English, is assured to be a favourite.

Elsewhere, tender moments shine on ‘No One But You’ – a romantic, acoustic guitar-led pop mid-tempo telling the story of sweet memories of everyday life with a loved one – which is contrasted sonically by ‘Moonlight’, a dramatic fusion of rap and dreamy R&B vocals accompanied by orchestral strings.  

The delicate piano ballad ‘Lighthouse’ – featuring WayV’s vocal unit: KUN, TEN and XIAOJUN – expresses a yearning for love. KUN also co-wrote the lyrics on ‘Be Alright’, the group’s song dedication to fans and themselves, assuring everyone that “you don’t have to walk this lonely road… we gon’ be alright, everything’s gonna be alright”.

The “On My Youth” album arrives almost a year after their fourth EP “Phantom”, which set them up for their first-ever international Fan-Meet Tour, which brought WayV to Europe for the first time with shows in London and Paris. The past four years have seen WayV establish themselves as a unique and respected group with an exceptional performance style. This album is a testament to these years of development, as well as their ambition, drive and creative gift as a group.

“On My Youth” album tracklist: 

  1. On My Youth
  2. Poppin’ Love
  3. Ain’t No Thang
  4. No One But You
  6. RODEO
  7. Moonlight 
  8. Lighthouse
  9. Be Alright
  10. On My Youth (English Version)

 Follow WayV:

Ciera Reeves

Ciera is the founder of KpopWise. She has been a fan of Korean pop culture since 2005 and writing about it since 2009. Her bias groups are VIXX and OnlyOneOf. She is a 2nd-3rd generation K-pop fan, but she is actively keeping up with the current artists. twitter instagram

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post